At the end of term 2 two of our year 12 students, Jared Loffler and Jack Ellery and two of our science teaching staff, Mr Gideon Choo and Jason Cargill formed part of a 5 student and 4 staff member team that represented Australia in the International Young Physicists’ Tournament in Russia. They earned the opportunity of representing Australia by winning the Australian Young Physicists’ Tournament in April earlier in the year. Jared had the privilege of captaining the Australian team who competed well to achieve 17th out of 29 countries. Final results are outlined below. The college is extremely proud of the efforts of the boys and staff involved and we congratulate them on their outstanding achievement.

The final placing’s by country were:

  1. Singapore
  2. Germany
  3. Switzerland
  4. Taiwan
  5. Korea
  6. Slovakia
  7. New Zealand
  8. China
  9. Hungary
  10. Ukraine
  11. United Kingdom
  12. Poland
  13. Belarus
  14. Brazil
  15. Austria
  16. Czech Republic
  17. Australia
  18. Thailand
  19. Russia
  20. Iran
  21. Sweden
  22. Croatia
  23. Bulgaria
  24. Canada
  25. Georgia
  26. Pakistan
  27. USA
  28. Romania
  29. Macau

Russ Tour 02